Friday, June 22, 2018
Become a supporter.
Get involved, now.

Departure bans against Haiti Electoral Council issued

Samuel Maxime


PORT-AU-PRINCE, Ouest, HT ( – Departure bans against all nine members of the Provisional Electoral Council (CEP) and some administrators were issued on Monday. The order was issued to compel the councilors to remain in the country and respond to the questions of justice officials on the widespread electoral fraud that marred the 2015 elections.

Government Commissioner Danton Léger had the prohibitions served on the nine electoral councilors and two election administrators hours before the report of the Independent Electoral Evaluation and Verification Commission (CIEVE) was made public.

The CIEVE report found that the institution led by Pierre Louis Opont that was tasked to organize the 2015 elections was implicated in “many offenses… including fraud, forgery of public documents (which is a crime under Haitian law).” The report added that “decisions of the BCEN would have caused serious harm to candidates.” The report urged that “competent authorities deepen the information and act accordingly, in accordance with the law (Electoral Decree: Articles 195, 195.1, 201.1, 206, 211, 211.1, 212, and the Penal Code).

In response, the chief prosecutor of Port-au-Prince, Commissioner Léger, issued the departure prohibitions against all nine electoral councilors including the former CEP President, Pierre-Louis Opont, the former Executive Director of the CEP, Mosler George, and head of the tabulation office, Widmack Matador. “They are accused of electoral crimes,” said the prosecutors office.

Become a Patron and get Haiti Sentinel and Defend Haiti merchandise.

Post source : Le Nouvelliste

About The Author

Samuel Maxime is a Haitian-born citizen living in the United States. He founded The Haiti Sentinel to bring Haitian issues to an English language audience.